Bargain books April 22, 2020

Another midnight browsing session and it looks like it could be good. The first one to catch my eye is a bargain at $0.99, it’s written by a corporate attorney (which, in my mind, gives her some credibility for this genre) and at first glance it does look interesting. It seems I am following the author on Amazon so that must be a good sign.

Breach of Trust (Atlanta Justice Book #3)

Breach of Trust

Amazon quote:

Corporate litigator Mia Shaw suffers the shock of her life when she finds her colleague and friend brutally murdered. Grief-stricken and furious, Mia vows that she will do anything to seek justice and make the killer pay.

The man accused of the murder is a friend of security tech guru Noah Ramirez, but the evidence just doesn’t add up. To save his former ATF partner, Noah needs to convince Mia that the real killer is still on the loose.

Mia soon has more than the criminal prosecution to worry about, however. She is tasked with taking over her friend’s last case and learns he was hiding secrets about his client. She thinks she may have stumbled upon corporate espionage that has turned deadly, but she has no idea of the danger involved. Her only ally is Noah, despite their difference of opinion on the homicide case. Can he win Mia over to his side and protect her from ever-growing threats?

***********

I see another one from the same author, a legal thriller this time, and it’s a bargain at $1.42 CDN. I’m ready for a chance of pace in reading material and I think these books might do it for me. I am a Dekker and a Peretti fan and this is similar to their writing, according to the endorsement below.

Trial & Tribulations (A Windy Ridge Legal Thriller Book 1)

Trials and Tribulations

Amazon quote:

High-powered attorney Olivia Murray faces the biggest test of her career when she is assigned to represent Astral Tech, a New Age tech company, in a lawsuit filed by its biggest competitor. While Olivia is accustomed to hard fights in the courtroom, she arrives in Windy Ridge and discovers there is much more to this case than the legal claims—forces of darkness are at work.

Windy Ridge quickly turns from quiet Chicago suburb to spiritual battleground, and Olivia must rely on her faith to defend against legal and spiritual attacks. Although they are enemies in the courtroom, Olivia finds a friend and unlikely ally in opposing counsel, Grant Baxter. Once a skeptic about faith, he ultimately comes to her aid when she needs it most.

The battle between evil forces heats up in and out of the courtroom, pushing Olivia to the breaking point. Will she be able to help good triumph over evil, or will the town of Windy Ridge be torn apart?

“This book is sure to appeal to fans of Dekker and Peretti.” —By the Book

***********

In the meantime, I’ve just started Justified Means. It is still a bargain at $1.39 and you need to hurry if you are interested, it won’t last long. I don’t expect this read will be quite as intense as the first two are bound to be.

Justified Means (Book One) (The Agency Files 1)

Justified Means

The Agency Files:

Whatever it takes: the motto of “The Agency.” It doesn’t exist–not legally speaking. However its effect in the lives of those who benefit from their aid is incalculable. Lives saved, restored, guarded–protected from the side of life most never see. Their clients are usually wealthy, important–desperate. Their other clients–well, they don’t always appreciate the efforts expended on their behalf–not until they aren’t lying on a slab in the morgue.

*************

I’m off to read a little before lights out. Get a chapter or two in to see if the current book will turn out to be a good choice. If I can keep my eyes open that is, they are a little droopy.

Happy Reading to you too

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s